Skip to main content

Product Sustainability

We love fashion. And we love our planet.
How we display sustainability in the shop
We strive to integrate sustainability factors into all of our decisions. We aim to enable our customers to do the same. For us, this means empowering you to make informed choices by incorporating the environmental and social impacts of products into shopping decisions.

We intend to keep working with our brand partners to increase transparency, and data quality, while simultaneously transitioning our assortment to offer more products with a sustainability focus to our customers.

No product is 100% sustainable. But we believe that many products are a preferred choice compared to their conventional counterparts. We aim to raise awareness for this with our sustainability communication in the shop.

Our aim is to keep evolving and learning from our gained insights, experiences, customer feedback, and the industry. We see sustainability as a continuous journey and want to bring our customers along the way. So, join us on the journey!
Our product-level sustainability symbols
Our sustainability symbols cluster third-party standards, licenses, and certifications of a product's material, production, or social standards throughout the supply chain. Products labeled with one of our sustainability symbols fulfill at least one of our requirements in the form of third-party licensed or certified material or brand-level certification. To make sustainability claims, brands must provide their products’ sustainability information, and be able to provide proof.
Organic material
Products with this label are made from organic materials. Organic farming reduces water usage and prohibits genetic modification, chemical fertilizers and pesticides. The aim is to preserve soil fertility and biodiversity.
Recycled material
Products with this label are made with recycled materials and are created by reusing pre- or post-consumer materials. Using recycled materials in products reduces the raw material input and associated waste, energy, and water of the production of virgin materials.
Improved production practices
Products with this label have been manufactured with the aim of reducing the production’s environmental and social impacts. This can include measures such as resource-saving practices, responsible chemical use, and improved working conditions throughout the processing of materials.
Responsible animal husbandry
Products with this label contain animal-derived materials that were sourced more responsibly. The sourcing was centered around the ethical handling of animals before, during, and after the extraction of materials.
Responsible sourcing
Products with this label contain plant-based materials sourced with less impactful practices for the environment and people. Preserving biodiversity is at the core of environmental and social practices like regenerative farming and responsible forestry.
Made for circularity
Products with this label were created with circular principles at the core of their design and throughout all life cycle stages. Circular processes aim to close the loop by avoiding material mixes, (re)using long-lasting, renewable or recycled materials and, therefore, reducing waste and the need for new resources.
Innovative material
Products with this label are made with innovative materials. They offer plant-based alternatives to animal-derived or synthetic materials and can be made from crops, fruits, or vegetables.
Advanced social efforts
Products with this label were manufactured in compliance with advanced social practices. These can include principles such as improved working conditions, fair wages, and gender equality throughout a product's life cycle stages.
Sustainability category
Explore the Sustainability category to find inspiration for new looks and styles.
Standards and licenses behind the symbols
Our sustainability symbols are backed by third-party certifications, licenses, and standards on a material or brand level. We have clustered the following to make the sustainability aspects easier to understand when browsing through our shop.
Next to our sustainability symbols that cluster various materials and certifications, we also disclose the following third-party certifications of brands.
Global Organic Textile Standard - GOTS Organic
The Global Organic Textile Standard (GOTS) is a globally recognized processing standard for textiles made from organic fibers. As part of the certification process, the entire production chain is examined for compliance with environmentally and socially responsible manufacturing requirements. Textile products that contain a minimum of 95% organic fiber can bear the label "GOTS organic".
Global Organic Textile Standard - GOTS Made with Organic materials
The Global Organic Textile Standard (GOTS) is a globally recognized processing standard for textiles made from organic fibers. As part of the certification process, the entire production chain is examined for compliance with environmentally and socially responsible manufacturing requirements. Textile products that contain a minimum of 70% organic fiber can bear the label "made with organic materials."
Organic Content Standard - OCS 100
The Organic Cotton Standard 100 (OCS 100) verifies textile products that contain at least 95% certified organic materials. By checking traceability throughout the entire supply chain, OCS 100 allows for a transparent and independent evaluation and verification of the organic fiber content in a given product.
Organic Content Standard - OCS Blended
The Organic Content Standard blended (OCS blended) verifies textile products containing at least 5% certified organic material. By checking traceability throughout the entire supply chain, OCS blended allows for a transparent and independent evaluation and verification of the organic fiber content in a given product.
Global Recycled Standard (GRS)
The Global RecycledStandard (GRS) allows the labeling of products that are proven to be made from at least 50% certified recycled content. The goal of GRS is to increase the use of recycled materials and reduce negative impacts from a social, environmental and chemical perspective in production. At the same time, environmentally friendly and socially responsible recycling is to be promoted along the supply chain.
Leather Working Group (LWG)
The Leather Working Group (LWG) is an international, non-profit membership organization made up of over 1600 leather industry stakeholders. The LWG certifies tanneries based on criteria such as water and energy consumption, handling of chemicals, waste and waste water. When you buy this product, you support LWG-certified tanneries.
You have seen 6 out of 12 certifications
bluesign® PRODUCT
bluesign® PRODUCT stands for textile production with the lowest possible impact on people and the environment, e.g., by limiting the use of chemical substances. It focuses on ensuring consumer safety, workplace safety, and responsible use of resources. Bluesign ® PRODUCT certified products must be processed in certified factories to at least 90%, and at least 30% of the accessories must be bluesign® APPROVED.
Responsible Down Standard (RDS)
The Responsible Down Standard (RDS) is an exacting standard that guarantees the traceability of down and feather products throughout their supply chain. The RDS establishes strict guidelines to ensure the upholding of animal welfare, i.e. in terms of food and water quality, housing, stocking density and outdoor access, animal health and hygiene. Force-feeding and live plucking are also prohibited under the RDS.
Responsible Mohair Standard (RMS)
The Responsible Mohair Standard (RMS) is a voluntary standard centered around traceability, animal welfare, and environmental responsibility within the supply chain of mohair. The RMS ensures the upholding of the Five Freedoms of Animal Welfare and a strong chain of custody along the supply chain.
Responsible Wool Standard (RWS)
The Responsible Wool Standard is a leading standard for the welfare of animals in the wool industry that guarantees responsible sheep farming. This label addresses animal welfare (e.g. the prohibition of mulesing), sustainable soil management and protection, and full supply chain transparency with an integrated traceability system.
Cradle to Cradle Certified® (Silver)
With the Cradle to Cradle Certified® Products Program, the Institute sets the global standard for safe, recyclable and responsibly manufactured products. Cradle to Cradle Certified® covers the entire value chain and ensures both the positive impact of the products on people and the planet. The product has met at least the Silver requirements in all standard categories.
Cradle to Cradle Certified® (Gold)
With the Cradle to Cradle Certified® Product Standard, the Institute sets the global standard for safe, recyclable and responsibly manufactured products. Cradle to Cradle Certified® covers the entire value chain and ensures both the positive impact of the products on people and the planet. The product has met at least the Gold requirements in all standard categories.
You have seen 12 out of 12 certifications
Navigate our sustainability symbols while shopping
You will notice the consistent presence of the symbols throughout our shop. Understanding them will help you navigate and use our sustainability product features. Here is how to use them to make more informed choices while shopping at ABOUT YOU.
Check out our Sustainability category to find inspiration.
Use our sustainability filters to select the products with your preferred sustainability focus.
Tap on the symbol while shopping to see the summary of a product's sustainability.
Check out the sustainability section on the product detail page to find even more information on the material, production, and certifications of products.
How to care for your clothes
Making informed choices can go beyond the decision of what to add to your shopping cart. Explore our Love Your Wardrobe page and find out how to care for or reinvent your clothes to extend their life and your time together. Are you ready to take action?
Do you want to learn more about our actions?

Direkt zum Hauptinhalt

Produktnachhaltigkeit

Wir lieben Mode. Und wir lieben unseren Planeten.
Wie weisen wir im Shop auf Nachhaltigkeit hin?
Wir haben den Anspruch, Nachhaltigkeitsfaktoren in all unsere Entscheidungen einzubeziehen. Unsere Kunden möchten wir befähigen, dasselbe tun zu können. Aus diesem Grund stellen wir Informationen zu den Auswirkungen von Produkten auf Mensch und Natur zur Verfügung. Jede Person soll die Möglichkeit haben, fundierte Kaufentscheidungen zu treffen.

Auch in Zukunft werden wir mit unseren Markenpartnern zusammenarbeiten, um Transparenz und Datenqualität kontinuierlich zu verbessern. Gleichzeitig passen wir unser Sortiment an, um unseren Kunden mehr Produkte mit Nachhaltigkeitsfokus anbieten zu können.

Kein Produkt ist zu 100 % nachhaltig; wir aber sind überzeugt, dass viele dieser Produkte im Vergleich zu ihren konventionellen Gegenstücken eine zu bevorzugende Alternative darstellen. Durch die Nachhaltigkeitskommunikation in unserem Shop wollen wir das Bewusstsein für diese Thematik schärfen.

Unser Ziel ist es, uns ständig weiterzuentwickeln und aus unseren gewonnenen Erkenntnissen, Erfahrungen, dem Feedback unserer Kunden und der Branche zu lernen. In unseren Augen gleicht Nachhaltigkeit einer stetigen Reise, die wir gemeinsam mit unseren Kunden erleben möchten – also begleite uns doch auf diesem Abenteuer!
Unsere Symbole für Nachhaltigkeit auf Produktebene
Unsere Symbole für Nachhaltigkeit fassen Standards, Lizenzen und Zertifizierungen Dritter für die Material-, Produktions- oder Sozialstandards von Produkten entlang der gesamten Lieferkette zusammen. Produkte, die mit einem unserer Nachhaltigkeitssymbole gekennzeichnet sind, erfüllen mindestens eine unserer Anforderungen, welche in lizenzierten oder zertifizierten Materialien oder einer Zertifizierung auf Markenebene liegen. Um Ansprüche auf Nachhaltigkeit zu erheben, müssen Marken Informationen über die Nachhaltigkeit ihrer Produkte bereitstellen und diese entsprechend belegen können.
Material aus biologischem Anbau
Produkte mit diesem Symbol werden mit Materialien aus biologischem Anbau hergestellt. Der biologische Anbau reduziert den Wasserverbrauch und untersagt genetische Veränderungen, chemische Düngemittel und Pestizide. Das Ziel dabei ist es, die Bodenfruchtbarkeit und die Biodiversität zu erhalten.
Recycelte Materialien
Produkte mit diesem Symbol wurden aus recycelten Materialien hergestellt und sind durch die Wiederverwendung von Pre- oder Post-Consumer-Materialien entstanden. Die Verwendung von recycelten Materialien reduziert den Einsatz neuer Rohstoffe und somit den, bei der Herstellung von Materialien, entstehenden Abfall, Energie- und Wasserverbrauch.
Verbesserte Produktionsprozesse
Produkte mit diesem Symbol wurden mit dem Ziel hergestellt, die negativen ökologischen bzw. sozialen Auswirkungen der Produktion zu verringern. Dies kann Maßnahmen wie ressourcensparende Praktiken, den verantwortungsvollen Einsatz von Chemikalien und verbesserte Arbeitsbedingungen bei der Verarbeitung von Materialien beinhalten.
Verantwortungsvolle Tierhaltung
Produkte mit diesem Symbol enthalten tierische Materialien, die auf verantwortungsvollere Weise beschafft wurden. Im Mittelpunkt der Beschaffung steht der ethische Umgang mit Tieren - vor, während und nach der Gewinnung der Materialien.
Verantwortungsvolle Beschaffung
Produkte mit diesem Symbol enthalten pflanzenbasierte Materialien. Diese werden mit Praktiken, die weniger negative Auswirkungen auf Umwelt und Menschen haben, gewonnen. Die Erhaltung der Biodiversität steht im Mittelpunkt ökologischer und sozialer Praktiken wie regenerative Landwirtschaft und verantwortungsvolle Forstwirtschaft.
Made for Circularity
Produkte mit diesem Symbol wurden unter Berücksichtigung von Kreislaufprinzipien entwickelt, die in allen Lebenszyklusphasen des Produktes gelten. Diese Prozesse zielen darauf ab, den Kreislauf zu schließen. Dafür werden Materialmischungen vermieden und langlebige, erneuerbare bzw. recycelte Materialien (wieder-)verwendet. Somit wird Abfall und der Bedarf an neuen Ressourcen reduziert.
Innovative Materialien
Produkte mit diesem Symbol werden aus innovativen Materialien hergestellt. Diese bieten pflanzliche Alternativen zu tierischen oder synthetischen Materialien und können aus Pflanzen, Obst oder Gemüse hergestellt werden.
Erhöhte soziale Standards
Produkte mit diesem Symbol wurden in Übereinstimmung mit fortschrittlichen sozialen Praktiken hergestellt. Dazu gehören Prinzipien wie verbesserte Arbeitsbedingungen, faire Löhne und die Gleichstellung der Geschlechter in allen Phasen des Produktlebenszyklus.
„Nachhaltigkeits"-Kategorie
Entdecke alle Produkte, die mit den verschiedenen Nachhaltigkeitssymbolen in unserem Shop gekennzeichnet sind.
Die Standards & Lizenzen hinter den Symbolen
Unsere Nachhaltigkeitssymbole werden durch Zertifizierungen, Lizenzen und Standards Dritter auf Material- oder Markenebene belegt. Folgend werden diese zusammengefasst, um das Verständnis der Nachhaltigkeitsaspekte beim Erkunden unseres Shops zu erleichtern.
Neben unseren Nachhaltigkeitssymbolen, die verschiedene Materialien und Zertifizierungen zusammenfassen, geben wir auch die folgenden Zertifizierungen von Marken durch Dritte an.
Global Organic Textile Standard - GOTS Organic
Der Global Organic Textile Standard (GOTS) ist ein weltweit anerkannter Standard für die Verarbeitung von Textilien aus biologisch erzeugten Naturfasern. Im Rahmen des Zertifizierungsprozesses wird die gesamte Produktionskette auf die Einhaltung von umwelt- und sozialverträglichen Herstellungsanforderungen überprüft. Textilprodukte, die mindestens 95 % biologisch erzeugter Naturfasern enthalten, dürfen das Label „made with organic materials“ tragen.
Global Organic Textile Standard - GOTS Made with Organic materials
Der Global Organic Textile Standard (GOTS) ist ein weltweit anerkannter Standard für die Verarbeitung von Textilien aus biologisch erzeugten Naturfasern. Im Rahmen des Zertifizierungsprozesses wird die gesamte Produktionskette auf die Einhaltung von umwelt- und sozialverträglichen Herstellungsanforderungen überprüft. Textilprodukte, die mindestens 70 % biologisch erzeugte Naturfasern enthalten, dürfen das Label „made with organic materials“ tragen.
Organic Content Standard - OCS 100
Der Organic Cotton Standard 100 (OCS 100) verifiziert Textilprodukte, die mindestens 95 % zertifiziert ökologische Materialien enthalten. Durch die Überprüfung der Nachvollziehbarkeit der gesamten Lieferkette ermöglicht der OCS 100 eine transparente und unabhängige Bewertung und Verifizierung des Bio-Faseranteils in einem Produkt.
Organic Content Standard - OCS Blended
Der Organic Content Standard blended (OCS blended) verifiziert Textilprodukte, die mindestens 5 % zertifiziert ökologisches Material enthalten. Durch die Überprüfung der Nachvollziehbarkeit der gesamten Lieferkette ermöglicht der OCS blended eine transparente und unabhängige Bewertung und Verifizierung des Bio-Faseranteils in einem Produkt.
Global Recycled Standard (GRS)
Der Global Recycled Standard (GRS) erlaubt die Kennzeichnung von Produkten, die nachweislich zu mindestens 50 % aus zertifiziertem Recyclingmaterial bestehen. Ziel des GRS ist es, den Einsatz von recycelten Materialien zu steigern und negative Auswirkungen aus sozialer, ökologischer und chemischer Sicht in der Produktion zu reduzieren. Gleichzeitig soll umweltfreundliches und sozialverträgliches Recycling entlang der Lieferkette gefördert werden.
Leather Working Group (LWG)
Die Leather Working Group (LWG) ist eine internationale, gemeinnützige Mitglieder-Organisation, die sich aus über 1600 Interessenvertreter der Lederindustrie zusammensetzt. Die LWG zertifiziert Gerbereien anhand von Kriterien wie Wasser- und Energieverbrauch, Umgang mit Chemikalien, Abfällen und Abwässern. Wenn Du dieses Produkt kaufst, unterstützt Du LWG-zertifizierte Gerbereien.
Du hast 6 von 12 Zertifikaten gesehen.
bluesign® PRODUCT
bluesign PRODUCT kennzeichnet eine Textilproduktion mit möglichst geringen Auswirkungen auf Mensch und Umwelt, z. B. durch die Begrenzung des Einsatzes von chemischen Substanzen. Es konzentriert sich auf die Gewährleistung des Verbraucherschutzes, der Sicherheit am Arbeitsplatz und des verantwortungsvollen Umgangs mit Ressourcen. Bluesign PRODUCT zertifizierte Produkte müssen zu mindestens 90 % in zertifizierten Fabriken produziert werden, und mindestens 30 % der Zubehörteile müssen bluesign APPROVED sein.
Responsible Down Standard (RDS)
Der Responsible Down Standard (RDS) ist ein strenger Standard, der die Rückverfolgbarkeit von Daunen- und Federprodukten über die gesamte Lieferkette garantiert. Der RDS gibt strikte Richtlinien vor, um das Wohlergehen der Tiere zu gewährleisten, d. h. in Bezug auf die Futter- und Wasserqualität, die Haltung, die Besatzdichte und den Zugang ins Freie sowie die Gesundheit und Hygiene der Tiere. Auch Zwangsfütterung und Lebendrupf sind nach dem RDS verboten.
Responsible Mohair Standard (RMS)
Der Responsible Mohair Standard (RMS) ist ein freiwilliger Standard, der sich auf die Rückverfolgbarkeit, den Tierschutz und die Umweltverantwortung innerhalb der Lieferkette von Mohair konzentriert. Der RMS gewährleistet die Einhaltung der fünf Freiheiten des Tierschutzes und eine strenge Überwachung entlang der Lieferkette.
Responsible Wool Standard (RWS)
Der Responsible Wool Standard ist der führende Standard für das Tierwohl in der Wollindustrie und garantiert eine verantwortungsvolle Schafhaltung. Dieses Siegel berücksichtigt den Tierschutz (z. B. das Verbot der Mulesing-Methode), die nachhaltige Bodenbewirtschaftung und den Bodenschutz sowie die vollständige Transparenz von Lieferketten mit einem integrierten Rückverfolgbarkeitssystem.
Cradle to Cradle Certified® (Silver)
Mit dem Cradle to Cradle Certified® Products Program setzt das Institut den weltweiten Standard für sichere, recycelbare und verantwortungsvoll hergestellte Produkte. Cradle to Cradle Certified® deckt die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette ab und gewährleistet sowohl die positiven Auswirkungen der Produkte auf die Menschen als auch auf den Planeten. Das Produkt hat in allen Standardkategorien mindestens die Silber-Anforderungen erfüllt.
Cradle to Cradle Certified® (Gold)
Mit dem Cradle to Cradle Certified® Products Standard setzt das Institut den weltweiten Standard für sichere, recycelbare und verantwortungsvoll hergestellte Produkte. Cradle to Cradle Certified® deckt die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette ab und gewährleistet sowohl die positiven Auswirkungen der Produkte auf die Menschen als auch auf den Planeten. Das Produkt hat in allen Standardkategorien mindestens die Gold-Anforderungen erfüllt.
Du hast 12 von 12 Zertifikaten gesehen.
Nutze beim Shoppen unsere Nachhaltigkeitssymbole
Dir werden sicherlich die ganzen Symbole auffallen, die in unserem Shop zu finden sind. Ihr Verständnis wird Dir dabei helfen, nachhaltigkeitsbezogene Produkteigenschaften zu begreifen und folglich für Dich nutzen zu können. Hier ein kleiner Ratgeber, wie Du sie gebrauchen kannst, um bewusstere Entscheidungen während des Shoppens bei ABOUT YOU zu treffen.
Erforsche unsere „Nachhaltigkeits“-Kategorie und lass Dich inspirieren.
Nutze unsere Nachhaltigkeits-Filter, um nach Produkten mit Deinem bevorzugten Nachhaltigkeits-Fokus zu suchen.
Klicke beim Shoppen auf das Symbol, um eine Übersicht der nachhaltigen Eigenschaften des Produkts zu sehen.
Wirf einen Blick auf den Nachhaltigkeitsabschnitt der Detail-Seite zum Produkt, um weitere Informationen zum Material, der Produktion und den Zertifikaten des Produkts zu erhalten.
So kümmerst Du Dich um Deine Kleidung
Informierte Entscheidungen zu treffen, kann über die Auswahl der Pieces in Deinem Einkaufskorb hinausgehen. Erfahre, wie Du Deine Kleidung pflegen und sie neu erfinden kannst, um ihr Leben zu verlängern und die Zeit mir vollends auskosten zu können. Bist Du bereit, aktiv zu werden?
Möchtest Du mehr über unsere Maßnahmen erfahren?